Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday 4

October 7, 2011

Projects are crying out to be finished; Supplies are desperate to be used; Fabric is begging to be sewn; my hot glue gun is gathering dust. This is the state of my craft room right now. I'm declaring a state of emergency! (And I can't believe I'm sharing picture proof of this disaster...)

Well, it was a tough week for you, my dear readers… Only two blog posts to speak of, well three if you include this one. We have been so busy lately that I just haven’t had time to work on much. It’s sad, I know. But on the bright side, I’m going to have LOTS of time, TONS of time, MOUNTAINS of time to work on projects this weekend! Woot! Woot! (Ever since I heard that “woot” was added to the dictionary I’ve had an inexplicable urge to use it constantly. Weird.) So here are some things that I am thankful for this week:

1 – I am thankful that I have not gotten sick yet this year! Do you know how gross kids are? They’re disgusting. Coughing and sneezing in your face, leaving trails of snot everywhere… Yuck! If they weren’t so cute I don’t think we’d ever bother with them. Fortunately they are adorable even when they’re being gross. Last year I was lucky, my pre-schoolers were almost never sick (minus one vomiting incident that I’d prefer to forget). The last two weeks we’ve had at least one, sometimes three out at once! So three cheers for my immune system, keep up the good work! (And let’s hope the kids get healthy…)

2 – I am thankful that Timmy has such excellent friends. They’re great. They are all nice, and really funny. They always make me feel welcome when I hang out with them. Timmy is a smart guy with discerning taste, so it makes sense he would select the best kind of people for his friends (not to mention his wife ::wink, wink::). This weekend Timmy is going with these friends to Buffallo (NY) for a football game, and as much as I am sad that he’ll be gone, I’m thrilled to have a bunch of time to myself to finish projects, and start new ones! I’m also thankful for the 20% off Joann Fabrics coupon I found online that is partially fueling my sewing/crafting extravaganza! So thank you, Timmy’s friends, for picking this weekend for a boys weekend, it could not have come at a better time.

3 – I am thankful that I am almost done with my latest knitting project! It’s a sweater and I kept putting it off because I was stuck on the sleeves. I finally took a bit of my own advice and sucked it up. I finished both sleeves in just two days – no idea why I couldn’t do that before… Now I’m almost done! Hopefully I’ll be able to finish it this weekend and post some pictures next week. Bonus – it’s for me and it’s just in time for the chilly weather!

4 – I am thankful for salt & vinegar potato chips. Random, I know, but if they had any kind of nutritional value at all, I think I would eat a big heap of them every day.

What are you thankful for this week?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    October 7, 2011 9:55 am

    Try the salt and pepper potato chips. You’ll love them.
    Julie and I are moving along on that quilt. I am washing the backing fabric now. I also love the Joann’s coupons. There always seems to be one online.
    Hmmm, just leaving a comment here makes me think about Grandma’s Plum Cake. I think it’s time to try our third one this weekend. The weather is perfect for plum cake.

    • October 7, 2011 4:51 pm

      I am jealous that you’re making a quilt! That is something that I have been wanting to try for a while. Maybe I’ll have to move it up on the project list! I’m happy to hear you love the plum cake!

  2. Megan permalink
    October 7, 2011 2:07 pm

    i am thankful for my mom, she bought Aaden his Halloween costume this year and it just came in the mail. He is going to be the cutest little monster ever!!

  3. Dad permalink
    October 7, 2011 6:04 pm

    I am thankful for my daughter, son in law, son and daughter in law. They are all THE BEST.

  4. Rose permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m thankful for this gorgeous Autumn day – and Uncle Joe being home, and the whiskey sours and quesadillas we had this afternoon……I’m also thankful that we don’t work on weekends. Enjoy your weekend Melissa!

  5. Rose permalink
    October 7, 2011 7:18 pm

    PS – I love your craft room – your hardwood floors are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

