Skip to content

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 4, 2011

I love whole wheat flour. If you’ve never used it, you really should give it a try. Until about one and a half years ago I had never used it, I didn’t even know it existed outside of specialty Whole Foods type stores. Then Aunt Rose mentioned it to me and my eyes were opened to the endless delicious possibilities! I now substitute whole wheat flour, at least in part, in just about every recipe I make. It gives breads, and other baked goods a heartier texture and a sort of wholesome taste (maybe it’s all mental haha, but I like it!). Plus, it’s good for you! After making these muffins using a recipe from from The Letter Four, I was left with a whole box of milled flax seed as well. So I decided, lets throw it all into the classic chocolate chip cookie!

This is a pretty standard recipe that I only slightly modified. I like my chocolate chip cookies to be chewy, although I admit that sometimes the last sheet is crunchy because I get distracted and forget to take them out of the oven… But the healthy ingredients (milled flax seed, whole wheat flour, etc) help create the tasty texture, and they’re good for you! So here is my recipe for chewy whole wheat chocolate chip cookies with milled flax seeds:

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
1/4 cup milled flax seeds
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup butter (2 sticks), softened (margarine also makes an excellent substitute if you’re having texture trouble)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 tbsp vanilla (not a typo, actually use a tablespoon)
2 large eggs
2 cups chocolate chips
1/3 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup walnuts (optional – I don’t like to add them, but you sure could)

Directions:
1 – Preheat oven to 375°. Combine flours, baking soda, salt, and flax seed, set aside.
2 – Beat butter (or margarine), both sugars and vanilla in mixer until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating until just combined in between.
3 – Gradually beat in flour mixture until just combined.
4 – Fold in chocolate chips and oats (and nuts if you choose) with spoon.
5 – Drop by rounded tbsp on to a cookie sheet and bake for 9-11 minutes. I sometimes drop by rounded teaspoons for smaller cookies (and bake 7-9 minutes), that way I don’t feel as bad when I eat 6 in one sitting. But maybe that’s just me… Let cool and enjoy. {Makes about 3 dozen – or 4+ if you make the mini cookies}

Also – did you know that you should use walnuts when baking with semi-sweet chocolate chips, and pecans when baking with milk chocolate chips? The different flavors in the nuts help to enhance the flavors in the chocolates. I just learned that! Hmmm… maybe I’ll have to add nuts next time, just to test this theory.

I hope you enjoy this recipe, let me know if you try it! Do you use whole wheat flour too? What’s your favorite whole wheat recipe?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:54 am

    Melissa –
    These cookies look really good. I love whole wheat flours. Aunt Ann Marie is good at using it too – I use her pancake and waffle recipes and incorporate whole wheat, bran and flax seeds. I think I’m making your recipe today!

    • October 6, 2011 7:32 am

      I hope they turn out okay! Let me know if you have any suggestions for improvement.

Leave a Reply

