Skip to content

Thanks Giving Friday Round 2

September 23, 2011

I’m really liking this, not only do I get to reflect on the things I’m thankful for, but I also get to blog about random things I love! This week I am thankful for the start of fall! Today is the Autumnal Equinox, which means that day and night are approximately the same length. So, even though I don’t practice pagan or wiccan or any other shamanistic religion, I have always felt some connection to the fall season. Maybe it’s just because I don’t like being hot and fall means no more sweaty days…

So, in the fall theme, here are three things I am thankful for:

1) I am thankful for boots! I looooooove boots! All boots, snow, leather, slouchy, thigh-high, even ankle on occasion. I recently purchased a pair of black leather Steve Madden boots and I wear them almost every other day. As much as I love shoes/boots, I have a hard time spending more than $100 on anything, so I really kind of hemmed and hawed before buying them, but they are among the best clothing purchases I have ever made. Totally worth it! Noticing that I wear boots frequently, one of my kids said to me the other day, “Why do you like boots so much?” I replied, “Why do you like sneakers so much?” I get a small sense of satisfaction when I can throw their level of maturity right back at them haha… They never know how to react when I do it either, it’s excellent. Ah, to be 4 again!

2) Fall colors! I’m not sure that I’m a “fall” person (I’m talking skin tone), I’m probably more of a winter like my mom, but I LOVE fall colors. Of course browns and deep greens and burgundies, but also oranges and mustards and taupes (of course). I have a big mustard color scarf that I pulled out and wore the other day and it made me so happy! Perhaps it is a little superficial and petty to find so much joy in clothing, but I’m willing to accept that. What’s wrong with a little superficiality now and then? If it makes me seem more cerebral, complex or contemplative, I love the colors just as much when I see them in the leaves on the trees, and mums. MUMS! I’m thankful for mums! I just bought some yesterday for my front porch. They’re a perfect shade of burnt reddish-orange. LOVE! Oh right, deep philosophical thoughts… Let’s meditate on the Zen proverb: The obstacle is the path…

3) I am thankful for Aunt Rose and her excellent guest post! First, because I was sick last weekend, and to come home from the

shore trip and see her post was a relief. So helpful! Second, because I love pot roast, but I thought it was hard to make. Wrong! I made this recipe this week, left it on the stove on low while I was at school, and it was amazing! I will be making this recipe a LOT this fall/winter. Third, and most importantly, I am thankful because Aunt Rose is such a wonderful/smart/beautiful person, and the fact that she wanted to be a part of my blog made me feel so special. Thank you Aunt Rose!!

Bonus – I am also thankful that Timmy changed the light bulbs in the kitchen. I didn’t even ask him to! I was cooking and doing dishes in the light of 1 measly bulb for the last couple days (ok, maybe a week…). Now that it’s getting dark earlier and staying dark longer, one light bulb is really not enough. This is just one of those little things he does that make him so great!

Happy Autumnal Equinox! What are you thankful for this season?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    September 23, 2011 12:46 pm

    Melissa –
    You are so thoughtful and nice to me – I can’t tell you how much I think of and love you! Your pot roast/gravy looks completely delicious! I’m glad you liked it – makes great sandwiches too.

    I also love boots, although I can never find a pair that fits properly – you can ask Uncle Joe about how many boxes arrive from zappos each fall, only to be sent back.ugh. Maybe this will be the year that I keep a pair! I remember those button-up-the-side-flat boots in your picture. You wore them to one of our Christmas parties with the cutest plaid mini, knee socks, and a fabulous navy sweater. It was while you and Timmy were dating, just before you got engaged, and I remember thinking how adorable/fashionable you looked- and what a handsome couple you were (and are!)

    So, I’m thankful for you and all of our nieces/nephews.

    I’m also thankful for coffee, especially on this rainy day. I’ve got a pot brewing right now. And since it’s rainy, I’m also thankful for our garage. I would hate to be driving around looking for parking since I just got back from grocery shopping……now my steps on the other hand……..

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    September 23, 2011 4:47 pm

    Well, I hate boots. I think. I’ve never actually worn them. They look super good on you though. I like my clogs. Only half a shoe on each foot. Kind of the opposite of boots, lol.
    So I am thankful for clogs.
    You know I’m thankful for fall colors! Superficially AND intellectually. Golden and bittersweet.
    AND, I too am thankful for Rose. One of the best people I know.
    I’d like to hear other people’s thankful list. Start commenting!

  3. September 26, 2011 6:52 am

    I stumbled onto your blog today and a read a few posts back that you vacationed (well tried) in Wildwood Crest. That is where I grew up and live about 10 minutes north of there. I have enjoyed reading your Thankful Post. And now have a real Hankering for Pot Roast. So Thank You for a a Enjoyable Post.
    Helen (Cape May Court House NJ)

Leave a Reply

