Skip to content

Giving Thanks

September 16, 2011

This is another new weekly post. I think it’s really important to take a minute and be thankful every once in a while, so we don’t take things for granted. For example, before this school year started I had a lot of time to get the house work done and then work on my own projects. Now that I have to be at school 5 days a week, I realize how much I took that spare time for granted before. I am so thankful any time I get an hour to myself that doesn’t include planning lessons or cleaning or cooking!

So here’s the plan – every Friday (hopefully) I will post 3 things I am thankful for. Then I’ll invite you to share something you are thankful for in a comment. Fun! Let’s get started!

1. I am thankful for the few spare moments I had Wednesday morning before school when I could do some sewing. (To be blogged next week!) It was so nice to be doing something that didn’t need to be done!

2. I am thankful for the time when my preschoolers started telling me the things they like about pre-school. And especially for when one of them said he liked everything!

3. I am thankful that my husband is so supportive and understanding (I think I’m going to be thankful for this a lot…). This week when he could tell I was a little tired/stressed he was extra nice to me. He even offered to start cooking dinner one night a week. Considering I had just taught him how to crack an egg (I though this was innate…) about an hour before, this is a pretty big deal. He also offered to take me on his run with him, since that helps him feel less stressed, and then, when I agreed to it, he went slow and let me walk sometimes. He’s the best!

What are you thankful for this week?

Oh, and on a side note, check out this fun video 100 seconds covering the last 100 years of fashion. I kind of wish I could get a closer look at the clothes, but it’s still pretty cool.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    September 16, 2011 4:21 pm

    Beautiful post!
    I’m thankful for the best daughter-in-law ever! She’s gorgeous, brainy, and talented (and she seems to tolerate me 🙂
    I talked to Rose and visited Mom/Dad today which was a great reminder that I am very thankful for the wonderful family I grew up in. (and neither the compliments Rose showers on me OR the delicious piece of apple pie I got to take home from Mom and Dad’s has anything to do with my thankfulness!)
    And, of course, I am beyond thankful for my own family. Simply put: they’re the best.
    Love,
    Mary Kay

  2. Rose permalink
    September 18, 2011 6:32 pm

    Loving Melissa too! Ditto MK.

    • September 19, 2011 10:18 pm

      Thank you! Secretly I made this post with the hope that everyone would reply saying they were thankful for me hahaha, Kidding!!! Thanks for responding!

  3. September 19, 2011 10:09 am

    Good idea, Melissa. I wasn’t home on Friday so here are my 3 things to be grateful for:

    1) the opportunity to be with my children and grandchildren pretty much any time I want.;

    2) my best friend ever, my husband Carl; and

    3) to live in a country where my voice can be heard.

    I know, these are pretty big things. There are a million little things to be grateful for as well. I will add them as we go along.

    • September 19, 2011 10:16 pm

      Thank you! It’s always good to remember the big things too, they’re just as important!

Leave a Reply

