Skip to content

Duckling Doings: The Little Engine That Could

September 14, 2011

Here is a cute little theme for a preschool or kindergarten classroom, maybe even first grade. Who doesn’t love the book The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper? My class especially loves trains, so this was perfect.

Circle Time: We read the story, and then we talked about things that were hard for us. For example, using scissors, zipping our coat, sharing. Then we talked about how, if we try hard, and say “I think I can” sometimes we can do it after all! Throughout the day, and we will probably do this all year, whenever someone thinks something sees hard we would all say “I think I can, I think I can.” It’s so cute to see the kids encourage each other, and celebrate when someone is able to do something.

Craft Time: We each made a train engine, and put our picture on it. The kids each cut out the pieces for the train, which was a bit of a challenge for many of them, so it really helped them to understand the lesson. If you don’t want to take pictures, you could have each child draw a picture of his/herself driving the train. This makes a cute bulletin board too!

Activity: Then we colored these goal charts. I filled in most of the chart with goals for the kids to complete as the year progresses, such as zip their own coat, write their name, recognize all of their shapes and colors, etc. Then the kids could make a couple goals for themselves to complete. Don’t forget to leave a column to place a sticker or check as the student completes each task. Here is the worksheet I created: I think I can goals page. If you have any trouble opening the document, let me know.

One of the rules in our classroom is to always do your best and try. This lesson helps the kids remember this rule. They are so excited when they finally learn how to do something, and seeing them encourage each other melts my heart.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia permalink
    September 14, 2011 4:18 pm

    I love your activity! I’m going to have to steal it & use it in my classroom. The kids LOVE that book (I think they like the train full of toys). I hope you are loving all of your little ones. I have to say… I am loving Kindergarten. We have so much fun! We are going to have to discuss ideas!

    • September 14, 2011 7:59 pm

      Thanks! I am definitely up for sharing ideas, I can use all the ideas I can get… I’m glad you’re school year has started off well!!

  2. September 29, 2011 10:00 pm

    We weren’t sure what to expect, but I have to say that we loved it! The movie is bright, colorful and FUN! The animation is surprisingly good, and the voice acting top-notch. Usually, movies for younger kids can drag, but this one moved along at a perfect pace, keeping all the kids in the audience enthralled. And I was pleasantly surprised at how FUNNY it was, keeping the adults entertained, too. The filmmakers really did a nice job of making sure all ages can enjoy this.

Leave a Reply

