Skip to content

Sew-cial Circles: The Anti-Sew-cial Edition

September 9, 2011

Whew, this has been a pretty crazy start to the school year… I don’t remember a time when I was more thankful for Friday! This weekend Timmy is running in a half marathon relay with 4 other people from his office, and now they all have matching team shirts. It was nice that Timmy asked me to make them, kind of like a compliment. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to work on them until this week, the first week of school, because of other things we had going on… Oh well, they are done now and Team MFDD will look great this weekend!

This was another freezer paper and fabric paint project. This time I used the athletic style shirts though, so I wasn’t sure how the freezer paper was going to work. It ended up being fine for one coat of paint. Usually I do two, but in this case the one coat came out okay. So overall, it was a success. After the blue paint dried I just freehanded some gold highlights. They aren’t perfect, but I think they make it look a little more finished. Plus, the business cards and logo for the office are dark blue with gold, so it goes with the theme. I think these will be my last team shirts for a while though. Pictures are fun, but letters… they get a little tedious.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, MFDD stands for Mosebach, Funt, Dayton & Duckworth – a general practice law firm serving the Lehigh Valley, PA. When you call, ask for Little Timmy, he’ll love that haha… Oh right, try to keep it professional when talking about the law firm… “Mosebach, Funt, Dayton & Duckworth, P.C., where individuals and businesses receive personal, high quality legal services.” I guess Timmy’s the one more cut out for being professional, my office conversations yesterday dealt with who the heck Squidward is (Spongebob’s friend apparently), and how to sit criss-cross-applesauce (the politically correct indian-style). Anyway, they are running in the Lehigh Valley Health Network Marathon for Via this weekend.

***********************

In other news, last weekend Timmy’s parents gave us a cupboard that they were getting rid of, and it has become the latest addition to my creative space. I love it! Actually, I’m planning to paint it eventually, I think, not that I don’t like wood. I revere wood! (Curb Your Enthusiasm anyone? No?) It’s just that I have seen some pretty cool cabinet makeovers, using fabric and wall paper for the inside, using two tones of paint and sanding the edges, stenciling, etc and I thought it might be fun to try. Since I know I’m not going to get to any of these ideas any time soon, I figured I might as well just start using it now. So here it is! My new yarn cupboard (or maybe yarnboard…?) – now I can see everything a little better, and I won’t forget what I have! I also set a goal to try to knit Christmas presents, etc using yarn from my stash to save money, but I have a feeling that when holes start popping up on the shelves I’m going to want to fill them… Yarn addiction isn’t such a bad thing, right? I mean, it could be worse… right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    September 9, 2011 9:46 am

    Great Shirts! The team should win for sure!

  2. September 9, 2011 10:13 am

    Thanks for the shirts Melissa! Everyone at the office thinks you did a great job. We’re hoping the light dry-lite fabric will help cut through the wind and significantly reduce our overall time. I’m going to need to shave at least 5 minutes off my per mile pace just to stay competitive with my split time. Also, I would like to clarify that it is a full marathon. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize there wasn’t a half-marathon option until after I signed us up. Tim (the old one)

Leave a Reply

