Skip to content

Knitting Kniche: Mrs. Cratchit Mitts

September 7, 2011

A little while ago I received a request for some Mrs. Cratchit mitts from Timmy’s Aunt Tricia. It took me a while to get them started, but once I did the project sped along. I really like the way these turned out, the textured stitch looks nice, and wasn’t as annoying to knit as I thought it would be. These kind of mitts are great to have on hand (pun intended) because they add just the right amount of warmth for a walk on a cool fall day, or even around the house in the winter. My hands are always freezing in the winter…

When I went to take pictures I pulled a book from my antique book collection and just opened to a random page. It’s a collection of poetry by Holmes, and the page I opened to was a poem called “My Aunt”. The poem describes an aunt who is nothing like Aunt Tricia, but I still thought it was a funny coincidence. Sometimes fate pokes it’s head in, just to let you know it’s there I think.

So, Aunt Tricia, these are ready for pick up or delivery. Anyone else need a pair?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 9:47 am

    Good job! I would love a pair, any color. I’ll e-mail you my address.

  2. megan permalink
    September 7, 2011 9:51 am

    i need some!! a nice fall color please 🙂

  3. Aunt Tricia permalink
    September 7, 2011 2:17 pm

    Yeah! I love them. I can’t wait to sit by our wood burning stove, watching the snow fall and wear those glovelets. Thank you so very much.

  4. Ann Marie permalink
    September 7, 2011 2:33 pm

    I’d be happy to take a air off your hands! I think they are beautiful.

  5. Mary Kay permalink
    September 7, 2011 2:42 pm

    They came out so pretty. Love the texture.
    I like the spooky twist in the story too. I’ve been making the thrummed mittens and have only the second thumb to go. I think I’ll open a random book of poetry by Walt Whitman to see if I should keep them for myself!
    Mary Kay

  6. September 9, 2011 8:14 am

    I better get to work!

Leave a Reply

