Skip to content

Heffalumps & Woozles

August 29, 2011

The hurricane hit Bethlehem with the force of an asthmatic whistler… I know it’s wrong to be disappointed that there wasn’t mass destruction and extensive damage to personal property, but this was completely anti-climactic. Maybe it’s my fault, I was expecting some kind of apocalypse, or at least Katrina style flooding and damage. The way the news coverage portrayed it, it was questionable whether any of the east coast was going to exist by Sunday afternoon.

But here we are! I am thankful that our house is still standing, and overall pretty dry. Unfortunately none of the downed limbs landed on our car (we trying desperately to somehow get a new one from the insurance company without committing fraud). I’m a little jealous of some of the cool rain gear the reporters got. Their stylish waders and colorful rain jackets really distracted me from the fact that they were ankle deep in a puddle trying to make me believe it was a huge lake in the middle of the street… Sorry to anyone who actually did have some damage!

It was all a little surreal though. Leading up to the storm everything was calm and still, no one was outside. It felt like the whole sequence in Winnie the Pooh with the heffalumps and woozles, very strange. And, just like Winnie the Pooh, we had a very blustery day! Sunday afternoon Timmy and I walked around Bethlehem to check out the damage (very little). We had fun though! We went down to Monocacy Park to see one of the creeks that flows through Bethlehem, the whole park was flooded! It was crazy! People were out gawking on bridges, the police yelled at one guy for parking in the middle of the street and getting out of his car to take a picture.

I guess now I’ve experienced my first earthquake and my first tropical storm/hurricane. And all in one week! They were both a little underwhelming…

On an unrelated note – Timmy and I tuned in to the MTV Music Awards (I don’t know why, we never watch award shows), and after the first performance he looked at me and said “I think the world has passed me by. I’m out of touch… I just don’t understand what is happening here.” Hahaha, we are getting so old!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:18 am

    The willow in the Aristides’ (or whoever owns it now) blew over and the tree guys have spent all morning cutting it down. And the pool is filled with leaves. Otherwise, pretty calm here.
    And the MTV world that has passed you by?…I think that’s what they call “a good thing”.

  2. August 29, 2011 11:29 am

    I love reading your posts. I think you should consider writing as a career.

    I am also glad to know that you and Tim survived and that there was not much damage in your area.

    Look forward to hearing about all your adventures, big and small! Love you.

  3. August 30, 2011 10:10 am

    We have no electricity up here with none coming for a few more days. I am happy to say Steve borrowed a generator and we are playing a “priorities” game with it. Steve wants the fridge plugged in. I just want to toss all the food and eat out. Julie and I begged for the water pump to be plugged in, and Steve ended up at Lowe’s at 10 PM buying the right electrical stuff to refit whatever to get that pump going. I think he got about 4 hours of sleep last night. But Julie had a warmish shower for her first day of school.

    So how would you prioritize these things:
    iron to press the uniform skirt vs. coffee maker
    coffee maker vs. hair dryer after warmish-shower at 6 AM
    hair dryer vs. wireless router
    wireless router vs. cell phone to be charged?

    And seriously, can’t we just toss the food and eat out for a week? Do I really have to grill that chicken?

    • September 2, 2011 9:20 am

      Wow, that does not sound like a fun way to start the school year… I hope you’re electrified again up there by now!

Trackbacks

  1. Be Prepared! « Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

