Skip to content

Sew-cial Circles: Ode to the White Top

August 25, 2011

As I have already established, I love neutrals. And nothing is more neutral, or more ubiquitous, than the white shirt. I think I have 20 plain white shirts in my closet right now, not including tank tops – then we’d be closer to 40. There will always be room for another too. Naturally, when I saw this tutorial on Made By Lex for a Peasant Top Refashion, I had to try it. Conveniently, Timmy had just decided to get rid of one of his work shirts, so I was in luck!

Basically, all I did was cut off the neck area, fold, press and sew a channel for the elastic around the neck, and add cuffs from this previous Timmy shirt refashion. I decided not to bring the shirt in and make it more form fitting, and not to cut it up to a shorter length. I did make a little tie, but I think it’s a tad pirate-y for my liking… maybe it’s the stripes. Anyway, I like it tent-style with leggings. It’s probably just me, but leggings and ballet flats always remind me of Audrey Hepburn, I’m not sure why… maybe something from Sabrina?

Bonus with this refashion – the sweet dickie you have after you cut the neck out of the original white shirt. Let’s bring back the dickie! Who’s with me?! Coming soon, a post on the many ways you can wear your dickie. (Please tell me you know I’m kidding about all of this…) What a weird moment in fashion history, dickie popularity… I’ll leave you to meditate on that, haha.

************************

I’m all linked up at:


One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    August 25, 2011 3:55 pm

    So adorable!
    (the top’s cute too)
    Mary Kay

Leave a Reply

