Skip to content

Victory Is Ours!!

August 9, 2011

That’s right, Team PDK takes the top spot on the podium for the Olympic Relay! And to add to that, Team Tri Tri Again took second place over all, and first place for the Women’s Olympic Relay!  Whoo!! It was a really fun experience and I can’t wait for next year! So here’s the story of the day:

First we woke up at 4:20AM. That is early; painfully early. Fortunately, we were so excited it didn’t matter. We drove out to the beautiful Lake Nockamixon State Park, along with at least a couple thousand others for the Steelman Triathlon. Timmy set up his bike and equipment along with that of the other team members – his two cousins Philip P (swimmer) and Mikey K (runner). Our team somehow was placed in the Elite Wave, which usually would make sense because, of course, I think they will be excellent, but two of them have never competed in anything like this before… That didn’t seem to matter, Philip did a great job in the water. I think he was the 6th person out, despite getting kicked!

Then it was Timmy’s turn, and I was nervous for him. He got off to a good start though, he had no issues running his bike through the transition area to the mount-zone – and then he was off. While he may have had a tough time riding, I was having a terrible time waiting. There was no good way to go out to the course from the start area to see him ride, so I just had to hope that everything was okay. It was torture! Then, after an hour or so I started to see people coming in. That’s fine, I didn’t expect Timmy to be the first rider in. But then I see a guy with a gut come riding in, and I have two thoughts: 1) How is this fatso beating Timmy?!?! Have I built Timmy up so much in my mind that I am completely out of touch with the reality of his ability?? And 2) Oh no, he must be injured! That’s the only way this guy could come in before him. Then I remembered that there was a Sprint triathlon at the same time, and those people only had to ride half the distance that Timmy was riding. The world made sense again. And not long after, Timmy came riding in. And looking good while he was at it. How is it possible that he looks this good after riding 27 miles?! 

Anyway, They had the fastest transition time in the race between the cycling and running portions. I missed Mikey’s start, but his finish was amazing. You could tell he put everything he had into the run and it paid off. He ran 6 minute 23 second miles! While Timmy and Philip did a really good job and kept the team in the running for the podium, I think Mikey is what put them over the edge. He is going to be a threat on the cross-country team next year – that is, if his mom doesn’t pull him out of school and start him on the path to pro-running and/or olympic training…

I guess the only down side to doing so well was that we had to wait about 2 hours in the blazing sun before Teams PDK and Tri Tri Again could take the podium. As miserable as it was, it was worth it! I later found out that Timmy had a pretty bad cramp around mile 20 and for a moment thought he might not make it. He had to take the cramped leg out of the snap-in pedals to massage his leg while he continued pedaling with the other leg. And he still did really well!! 

Aunt Beth’s team came out on top of the Women’s Olympic Relay, even though she “wasn’t really trying.” Uncle Mike’s team did really well too. Fortunately, he beat Aunt Beth’s running time, otherwise it might have been a tough day at the Koons’ house haha. 

Overall, I am so proud of the whole family, and especially Timmy! What’s that, you’d like one more picture of him? If you insist…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 10:28 am

    Favorite part about this: Captain America shoutout. Great pictures, I’m so proud of all of them.

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    August 9, 2011 11:17 am

    What a handsome team! Team PDK is Pretty-Darn-Kwick.

    The shirts look great. You all make us proud!

  3. Aunt Tricia permalink
    August 9, 2011 12:43 pm

    I’m so proud of all of them. Plus the Tshirts were fantastic! Melissa, I would love to get you pictures. You have some that I don’t and I’ve started scrap booking again. Love this blog!!

    Aunt Tricia

Trackbacks

  1. Random Notes & Updates « Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

