Skip to content

Taupe is the new perfect

August 5, 2011

Maybe it’s just me, but taupe seems like it’s everywhere lately and I am loving it. Not that horrible “taupe” you imagine on the walls of college dorm hallways that’s really more a mixture of tan and vomit. I’m talking about the warm, soft, gray with brown undertones kind of taupe that you can mix and match with everything. I’ve always been a sucker for a neutral – remember my gray period, Mom? Literally 90% of my closet was gray because, “gray goes with everything!” It goes with most things, but boy can it be depressing when the wildest color combo you own is charcoal and light heather…

But I digress… Oh right, taupe. I found this cotton fabric at JoAnn’s a few weeks ago in the Red Tag section and for some reason I only bought 1 yard. What was I thinking?! Anyway, I had enough to make this very simple dress that I think will be a staple year round. Sure, it’s stinkin’ hot now and this is easy breezy comfy, but in the winter it will be just as cute with a long-sleeve tee underneath and a scarf, of course. And with a neutral like taupe, and a super simple construction, this will never go out of style.

One more thing – like my new photo location? The shameful state of my garden made it necessary to find a new spot to take pictures. Fortunately my yard backs up to a big, shut down factory/apartments (it’s half and half). On the down side, the factory has a bat problem that occasionally overflows to our house (only twice so far). But on the plus side, it’s closed down so I can walk right around the corner to the loading dock and take my pictures there. There were surprisingly few people out today too, so I didn’t have to sheepishly wave and hope they would leave me alone.

************************************

This post is joining the party at Skip to My Lou‘s Made By You Monday and Nifty Thrifty Things!

Thirty Hand Made Days

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 1:20 pm

    Love your creativity and even more, love the pictures. They look like they should be in a magazine ad. You are toooooo cute!

  2. Ann Marie permalink
    August 5, 2011 1:31 pm

    I need a yard of fabric to make a handkerchief. I love this simple but elegant taupe dress, too. Your picture should be in a fashion magazine.

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    August 5, 2011 2:03 pm

    Love the dress and I love the pictures! Timmy (!???!) or Tri-pod?
    Mary Kay

    • August 5, 2011 2:07 pm

      Actually I used an old stand by – the potted plant stand and oversized book combo haha. I guess it technically has three legs, so you could call it a tripod of sorts…

      • Mary Kay permalink
        August 6, 2011 10:46 am

        I think I have an old tri-pod that we never use. I’ll look for it and bring it over.

Leave a Reply

