Skip to content

Easiest Top Ever, Literally

August 4, 2011

Please disregard the weird looking hair...

This top is so simple, anyone with a sewing machine could make it in half an hour or less. All I did was lay a dolman style (sleeves are part of the body, not sewn on separately) top on my lightweight jersey fabric, with the shoulders on the fold, and cut around it. The fold makes the top/shoulder seam of the shirt, so there are really only two seams for the two sides. And of course, you have to cut a hole for your head… that’s crucial.

My fabric was really lightweight and sheer, but you could use the same idea on any weight knit fabric.

I was attempting to show the sleeves, not stand awkwardly like I'm about to be arrested...

This is a great project to try if you’re new to jersey or stretch knits because it only has the two long seams. There’s no hemming of the neckline, sleeves or bottom, unless you really want to. You can work out your tension and stitch settings as you go and it’s not really a big deal. Truth be told, I tried doing a zigzag stitch edge to my sleeves, just to make sure they didn’t fray (jersey usually doesn’t), and it was a failure so I just cut that part off and decided not to worry about it. This top is also great because you can alter it so many ways – longer sleeves, wider sleeves for a butterfly effect, wider body, cropped body, make it a dress, batwing style sleeves, the possibilities are endless! This particular top took 1 yard ($2!!), but if you want longer sleeves I would suggest getting more fabric. Not in to sewing or don’t own a sewing machine? Try a different method to close the sides, such as cutting fringe and tying it down each side for a kind of funky look (you’ll have to make your shirt wider to accommodate the fringe).

See, all I did was cut around my shirt. If you don't have this style top, you could always use a regular t-shirt for the basic shape. Thank goodness these are not the real colors of my shirts - Yuck!

*****************************

I linked up at 36th Avenue! Check it out!

36th Avenue

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Marie permalink
    August 4, 2011 7:44 am

    Very cute. What kind of sewing machine do you have?
    What do you do with left over fabric?

    • August 4, 2011 8:08 am

      Thank you! I’m glad you visited my blog! My sewing machine is a Brother (model PC-420), and I save all my scraps just in case I need them in the future. There are lots of projects that use up scraps, though I haven’t done any yet… Do you have another use for them?

      • Ann Marie permalink
        August 9, 2011 11:12 am

        I was hoping to give them to you.

      • August 9, 2011 5:26 pm

        I’ll take them! I’ve been making some cute broaches, to pin on tees, scarves, etc, and all I need to make them is scraps. Thank you!

  2. August 4, 2011 8:44 am

    That is super cute, and I’d really like to try it. My first adventure with knit didn’t go very well, so I’d like to try again on something more simple. Thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Festive Fall Wreaths « Mrs. Duck's Domestic Doings

Leave a Reply

