Skip to content

Pride & Prejudice – Shakespeare Fest Style

July 29, 2011

Timmy’y parents took Timmy and I to see Pride and Prejudice at the Pennsylvania Shakespeare Festival on Wednesday night. It was great! And yes, of course they do Shakespeare, they just throw a few other plays in the mix as well. We were so excited to see that Pride & Prejudice was on the program for this year, because anyone who knows me or my mother-in-law, MaryKay, knows that we LOVE Jane Austen. As I prepared for the show I thought to myself that there were really only 3 things that could make a good theatrical rendition of the book even better:

1: Any of the actors, though especially those playing Mrs. Bennett or Elizabeth, along with their understudies, are somehow prevented from performing and MaryKay must fill in for them. I have no doubt she knows the lines – in fact she would happily perform the entire show herself if you just provide her with a bottle of wine.

Timmy was too embarrassed to jump in this photo with me

2: At any point during the show one of the actors forgets a line and we are able to help them, in full character voices, obviously. In my mind our assistance is met with much admiration, and cheering. Obviously we know what the line would be – see above #1.

3: Somehow Timmy or Tim (his dad) would be forced to participate in an audience involvement portion, such as dancing at one of the balls. They would be the best (read, most comical) for this role because they have the least desire of the 4 of us to be in the show.

As you can see, my primary thought was, how can I or someone I know get on the stage haha… Sadly, none of these things happened. But we did enjoy the show! I even learned that Timmy had never actually read the book or seen any of the movie versions. A fact that would seem impossible considering his mother and wife. I’m currently trying to persuade him to agree to let me read the book aloud to him, a chapter each night. This will be a true test of my persuasive facilities, wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    July 29, 2011 9:34 am

    Hey Melissa, at first glance I know you might not think Timmy is in the picture; but if you check out in between mom and the girl who sort of looks a little like Tricia, Timmy is certainly there (just in a strange garb).

  2. Lisa Koons permalink
    July 29, 2011 10:02 am

    Too funny. I was actually contemplating contacting the director to see if he would give me a bit part just for that night to add to the surprise and comedy of the Duckworth evening but I figured you all would have been kicked out for rolling on the floor and laughing your heads off so I thought the better of it. lol

  3. Tricia D permalink
    July 29, 2011 10:52 am

    OMG lol, it’s hard to see the pictures on my iPhone and I thought it was Timmy dressed up in that picture… It wasn’t until I read that he refused to go in the picture that I realized it was some actor. Lol I kept thinking… How did they get Timmy in that get-up?? I’m glad you guys had fun.

Leave a Reply

