Skip to content

Knitting Update

July 27, 2011

This is not the sample, this was the original I knit last year. Isn't that the most adorable model!

Lest you think I gave up on knitting, I thought I should let you in on what I’m working on now. I have to admit that knitting is rendered significantly less enjoyable by the heat; sweaty hands do not a happy knitter make… I can’t turn my back on knitting completely during the summer though, so I just suck it up and knit in the evenings when we have the A/C turned on. Anyway, back to the projects.

First, I finished my sample knitting for my next pattern, the Winter Garden Tunic! Whoo!! I’m just waiting for it to dry so I can take pictures for the pattern I have ready to go. I also have my handy-dandy test-knitter/mother-in-law testing the pattern to make sure there aren’t any big time mistakes and it makes sense. Once she’s done and I have the pattern put together I will release it to the world! This will be my second pattern release, but the first time I am charging for a pattern. Yikes! I’ll be sure to keep you posted when I release the pattern.

If only you could see the colors better...

Second, I’m also working on a simple sweater with some really beautiful, colorful yarn. I tried to get pictures of my progress, but they don’t show the colors off very well. Hopefully, when I finish it I will be able to take better pictures.

A second appearance by that adorable little model! Her sister is adorable too, I'll have to get a picture of her on here some time.

And Finally, in case you are interested, an update on my Manny the Monkey pattern. Here are my stats from the knitting website Ravelry: 58 people have made my pattern one of their favorites, which just means they really like it. 17 people have added my pattern to their queue, which means they might actually want to make it. And, 2 people actually claim to have started making Manny the Monkey, though they haven’t yet posted any pictures or details. For my first pattern I think this is pretty good! Especially since I didn’t really do much work for this pattern. I’m optimistic that my Winter Garden Tunic will be at least as popular as Manny, but I will keep you posted.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia D permalink
    July 27, 2011 10:15 am

    Soo cute!! Love your model!! I was just wondering if you started your Tim Duckworth the Duck pattern yet? Lol

  2. Mary Kay permalink
    July 27, 2011 11:52 am

    I’m working on Winter Garden right now! Only at the yoke, but so far so good! Pictures when it’s done.
    Mary Kay

  3. Rose permalink
    July 27, 2011 8:52 pm

    I saw MK working on the pattern today and it looks fabulous. Congratulations on the stats ! Is the model one of your little cute cousins?? Very cute!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  4. Lisa Koons permalink
    August 2, 2011 9:39 pm

    The dress is impressive…the little girl is darling. Manny the monkey is so cute. I love this whole blog idea. You are most creative. I especially love the quilt square that you have given to each. Our birthday boy is sitting on my lap and wants to know when you are going to make my square a REAL quilt (because he loves the color green) Too funny.
    Cheers to your success, Aunt Lisa

Leave a Reply

