Skip to content

Po’ People’s Screenprinting

July 20, 2011

Freezer paper is the poor woman’s screenprinting machine! I found this cool technique on several blogs that I like to peruse (I’m not yet comfortable with the term “blogosphere”…), and I had to try it out. Clearly, it’s not a new idea, but it was new to me! As a total non-artist, I didn’t want to try this on anything that would matter, so I used one of Timmy’s tee-shirts (haha, it all worked out in the end, right?). All I did was find a simple picture – preferably a silhouette – and printed it; traced it on the paper side of my freezer paper; cut the image out using an exacto knife and my handy self healing mat; ironed the image to the tee, plastic side down; and then painted it on the shirt.

One coat of paint

The plastic on the freezer paper creates a temporary seal with the fabric so you can paint and it won’t seep under the edges (hopefully). It’s excellent! I had to do three coats of paint because I didn’t want the white to look too light or greenish. Once the paint is dry, you just peel up the freezer paper and voila! It almost feels like magic as you peel the paper back and the image appears.

I couldn't wait for the paint to air-dry...

As you’ll notice, mine has very thin light spokes around the wheels. This is the part I”m most proud of haha. All I did was make a single slit in the freezer paper where I wanted each spoke to be. I wasn’t sure if the plastic would seal the slit closed or not, but I figured it was worth a shot. This is all a big experiment anyway, right? And in the end it worked brilliantly; the spokes are visible but not heavy,  perfectly proportionate.

If you need a specialized/customized tee-shirt for anything, don’t be afraid to try this. It really was simple! Don’t forget to use permanent fabric paint and heat set the paint on the wrong/unpainted side of the fabric with an iron, otherwise it will fade in the wash.  For a more in depth tutorial, try visiting this blog, called Made.

Isn't he cute?

Timmy likes it but he thinks words might make it even better, which is great since I want to see if I can cut the freezerpaper with my Cricut machine. We’ll see if it works… I’ll keep you posted!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose permalink
    July 20, 2011 9:42 am

    Timmy’s very cute and so is that T-shirt! I’m liking the bike theme!
    Love,
    Aunt Rose

  2. Mary kay permalink
    July 20, 2011 5:21 pm

    I want to buy one of these for Tim. How much are they?
    Love
    Mary Kay

    • July 21, 2011 10:11 am

      I’m going to promote artistic respect and courtesy and not sell anything that has art created and copyrighted by someone else, which was the case with this bike. However, I might potentially commission a couple small pieces of art to use, so I will let you know what happens. Also, let’s keep in mind that Timmy and I have to come up with gift ideas for Tim throughout the year…

  3. Mary Kay permalink
    July 26, 2011 4:22 pm

    I know just the artist! I wonder if she’d be interested?

Leave a Reply

