Skip to content

Home Again, Home Again Jiggety-Jig

July 11, 2011

I didn't get many pictures of the two of us on this trip... This will have to do.

Fireworks on the beach! (There were a lot of rice krispies!!)

Timmy and I are home from a wonderful trip to the Jersey shore (Ocean City, NJ). We had a great time relaxing on the beach all day and playing games in the evenings. Timmy spent the week furiously speed reading through as many books as possible. I think I got through about 70 pages the whole week haha… There are way too many interesting conversations when you’re on the beach with a BIG family!

Now that we’re home I feel motivated and inspired for some reason. We are almost completely unpacked (where did I even get some of this stuff??), and I re-stocked the fridge. Now I’m ready to get to work– and there’s only one good way to start new projects: shopping! Aside from actually completing a successful project there are few things better than shopping for new supplies. I love going to craft/yarn/fabric stores and slowly meandering through the aisles. I always end up finding great materials that I didn’t even know I needed (that’s right, needed). Especially the fabric store, there is just so much to see, so many beautiful, colorful fabrics to choose from.

Then I bring it all home and pull each item out of the bag, laying every one carefully out before me. Separating them by project – floral pattern with the stripes and the green thread, funky robots with the green swirls, etc. I picture what each project will look like and see myself using/wearing them. What a glorious display! Sadly, until the project is finished, this is the best these items will look in my eyes. Soon enough they will be shoved in a bag or box somewhere in my sewing room to wait, sometimes a loooong time, until I’m ready to actually begin working with them. I think I have a new plan to help keep me moving though: a good, organized sewing room. When I was in school and I had a big paper to write, the best thing I could do to get myself motivated (aside from realizing it was due in 24 hours), was to organize and clean out my desk. So that’s what I’m planning to do with my sewing room. (Sidenote: Sorry Timmy, I know I set it up for you to do your bike things in there too, but I’m claiming full rights by adverse possession (the law degree finally comes in use!). You can still store things in there I guess…) Here is my first (small) step:

My new ribbon rack!

Hopefully I will have some more fun things to show you later this week!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kay permalink
    July 11, 2011 6:33 pm

    Love it!
    MK

  2. Tricia D permalink
    July 11, 2011 6:37 pm

    Love your new ribbon rack… Soo clever & cute!

  3. Rose permalink
    July 11, 2011 8:31 pm

    So pretty! You read 70 more pages than me!!

  4. Rose permalink
    July 11, 2011 8:41 pm

    PS – LOVE your pictures!

Leave a Reply

