Skip to content

Getting Started…

June 15, 2011

Timmy has been encouraging me to try to make this knitting habit I’ve developed into some kind of business, I assume the profitable kind. I’m feeling very pessimistic about my ability to make that plan a success, but optimistic about the prospect of trying. I know a lot of people have a hard time getting started when the project seems as huge as this one seems to me. Fortunately, I am not one of those people. I almost never have trouble getting started on a big project, especially when the getting started involves shopping for fun new stuff haha! Unfortunately, I AM one of those people who has a hard time keeping the momentum going… So I’m writing this plan down and publishing it on the internet for all of you to read. Now I have no way out. When you see/talk to me, ask me how it’s going and if I’ve been working on anything, I need the nagging!

I think I’m off to a good start. I’ve become Ravelry friends with a few ladies about my age who have had some success with their designing/knitting/sewing, and I already feel more successful! Some saying about the company you keep seems applicable here.  I have knit one item for sale, an adorable little light blue cardigan to be part of a set. While I do enjoy the knitting part, I’m pretty sure designing things will be more profitable, if anything is, since you can sell the exact same item hundreds of times. So, I have written down some ideas and am starting on my first pattern now. Wish me luck!!

Preview! It's adorable! And tiny! And needs buttons...

Yikes, now it’s out there! There’s no turning back…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Martha permalink
    June 15, 2011 2:42 pm

    Melissa, It is adorable… what size is it? It looks a little small for my girls. You should look online for weavers and fiber arts guilds or ask your favorite yarn shop if they are aware of any groups. Aunt Martha

  2. MaryKay permalink
    June 15, 2011 4:23 pm

    You know I’ll be there cheering you on because I know you have the skills! That baby sweater is adorable. Anything you need test knitted, let me know.
    Love,
    Mary Kay

    • June 15, 2011 4:41 pm

      Oh, don’t worry. I plan on recruiting you to do lots of test knitting. In fact, as soon as I’m ready with the pattern I’m doing now, I’ll pass it on to you. Thank you!

  3. megan permalink
    June 15, 2011 7:38 pm

    Good luck i will ask everytime we talk!!!

Leave a Reply

