Skip to content

Valentine’s Day Fun

February 6, 2011

Ready to be mailed!

I made these adorable little hearts for my mom’s birthday, to remind her that I’m thinking of her out here in PA. But wouldn’t they make a great Valentine’s Day decoration? Valentine’s Day is one of my favorite holidays — queue collective groan. I know, it’s a commercial holiday created to boost the greeting card, candy and flower industries, blah blah blah. Why  can’t we look at it as a great opportunity to celebrate the relationships we have with our loved ones? How fun to take a moment and really appreciate that I have a wonderful (not to mention handsome) husband, and a caring and supportive family (yes, you’re handsome too)!

You don’t need to spend a lot of money to celebrate Valentine’s Day either. When Tim and I had been dating only about a month and a half we had our first Valentine’s Day together. Potentially awkward that early in a relationship. He gave me a piece of notebook paper folded in half with a heart drawn on the front and a hand written note inside. I still have it. While perhaps I should have taken it as a sign that he doesn’t like celebrating the romantic holidays, I preferred to think that he was sooo romantic and thoughtful. Haha… Now I know better, but he still gives me folded notebook paper cards from time to time, and they are always much better than anything he could get at the store.

As silly and sappy as that may be, I love Valentine’s Day still. And hopefully I’ll be able to finish another set of hearts to hang up at my house by February 14th!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

