Skip to content

Snow Day(s)!

January 18, 2011

Our backyard

Last week we had a big snow storm in the northeast! For some reason I thought that PA would have much milder winters than Michigan. Boy was I mistaken! Bethlehem only ended up getting about 3 inches of snow last week, but last night we got another wintery delivery. This time it came in the form of about 2 inches of snow that was then packed down under an inch of ice. When shoveling the side walk I had to chip through the top layer with the snow shovel and then pick up sheets of ice and toss them to the side.

I have to admit that I like the cold and snow. I like breathing in the cold air and getting chilly cheeks and nose. Plus, as a knitter, any weather that encourages wearing sweaters, mittens, hats, and all other forms of winter accessory is okay with me!

The snow days give me an excellent excuse to not leave the house too. Which means I can do some of those things I haven’t made time for lately, like working on recipes I want to perfect. Last week I made cardamom scones, which I’ve been trying to improve. They were flakey and delicious right out of the oven, but once they cooled they became heavy and dense. Hopefully with today’s snow day I’ll be able to try a few alterations. Maybe, if they taste good, some lucky person will get to share this batch with me! And maybe, if I ever get the recipe just right, I’ll share it with you!

At least they look pretty!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Martha permalink
    January 18, 2011 3:59 pm

    The scones look yummy! Enjoy your day at home baking.

    Love, Aunt Martha

  2. Auntie Pam permalink
    January 18, 2011 4:07 pm

    They do look pretty. Try mixing cake flour and corn starch with the all purpose flour. I saw the idea on America’s Test Kitchen for pancakes. Just an idea.
    We have snow, rain, snow – yucky!

    Enjoy your day at home.

  3. Mom permalink
    January 18, 2011 5:00 pm

    They look wonderful to me!

Leave a Reply

