Skip to content

Grandma’s Plum Cake

September 29, 2010

It’s funny, my grandma was not the type of grandma who spent all her time in the kitchen. She didn’t spend lots of time teaching me her secret techniques and ancient family recipes as I grew up. We did a lot of other really fun things, but cooking together was not an every visit affair. For some reason, now that I am older and cooking in my own home, Grandma’s recipes always seem to come to mind.

My Plum Cake

This season I have been craving Grandma’s Plum Cake. I’ve never seen anyone else make plum cake, and I certainly didn’t want to spend the time making someone else’s recipe when I knew it was Grandma’s Plum Cake I really wanted. So rather than doing an internet search for a recipe, I called and found out that her plum cake was an old family recipe. Now each time I make it I feel some how connected to my Grandma, and to her grandmother, and all the other people in my family who made this plum cake for their loved ones.

I’m really happy that I decided to call my grandmother and ask for this recipe. I think it made her happy to know I remembered it. And now I have a special family recipe to pass on to my future granddaughter!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Pam permalink
    September 30, 2010 3:33 pm

    The plum cake looks great! I’ve enjoyed your blog, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

