Skip to content

Jane’s Birdie Peasant Dress

August 7, 2013

Birdie Peasant DressI broke out the sewing machine the other day. Do you know how momentous that is? Monumentally momentous. It means there was a perfect storm at our house involving: 1) Jane taking great naps, 2) me getting the cleaning done for that day, and 3) me having all the necessary supplies already on hand for the project. I had been in the mood to sew something for Jane Darling, so I checked my sewing board on Pinterest, and sure enough there was something quick and easy waiting for me.

Birdie Dress Collage

I spent one nap time gathering supplies and cutting out the pieces, and another sewing the dress together. I call this a success – I love the little birdie pattern, and the ric rac trim! I even learned a few new tricks while I was speeding through this dress. I can now use the overlock function on my fancy sewing machine, which comes in handy since I don’t have a serger to finish my edges. I learned the proper way to apply ric rac trim, and I learned how to make the ric rac flower I attached to the front. It’s a little big now, but that just means she’ll be able to wear it for a while.

Jane and I will have to make a deal – I’ll work on the sewing if she works on the modeling…

Birdie Dress Jane

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 7, 2013 9:24 am

    Maybe she did not like the picky grass! Cute dress.
    Love, Mom

  2. Rose permalink
    August 7, 2013 9:33 am

    Melissa – you are inspiring! What a pretty dress, and gorgeous baby!

  3. Ann Marie permalink
    August 7, 2013 9:36 am

    I love the dress, it is so cute. It looks so adorable on her.

  4. Aunt Martha permalink
    August 7, 2013 9:56 am

    Jane and her new dress are so sweet!

  5. Mary Kay permalink
    August 9, 2013 6:17 am

    I can confirm that she loved the dress, but did not like the grass. It’s crazy what these models have to go through for fashion.

  6. August 9, 2013 2:53 pm

    so cute….love the ric rac rosette…
    such a pretty little girl….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

